Part 3 MRCOG Clinical Assessment

Next course: 2023


Part 3 MRCOG Clinical Assessment

The Part 3 MRCOG Clinical Assessment aims to assess candidates’ ability to apply core clinical skills in the context the skills, knowledge, attitudes and competencies as defined in the Part 2 MRCOG curriculum.

All candidates (UK-based and non-UK-based) are permitted four attempts of the Part 3 MRCOG. If they do not pass within four attempts, they will be required to retake Part 2 MRCOG.

Part 3 MRCOG Clinical Assessment

The part 3 MRCOG examination will assess the following five core skill domains:

  • Patient safety
  • Communicating with patients and families
  • Communicating with colleagues
  • Information gathering
  • Applied clinical knowledge
The examination will consist of 14 tasks in a circuit, each task based on one of the 14 O&G curriculum modules listed below:
  • Teaching
  • Core surgical skills
  • Post-operative care
  • Antenatal care
  • Maternal medicine
  • Management of labour
  • Management of delivery
  • Postpartum problems (the puerperium)
  • Gynaecological problems
  • Subfertility
  • Sexual and reproductive health
  • Early pregnancy care
  • Gynaecological oncology
  • Urogynaecology and pelvic floor problems
Each task will be 12 minutes in length, which includes 2 minutes of initial reading time. A comparison to the existing Part 2 Oral Assessment is outlined below.
Part 2 MRCOG Oral Assessment
(until May 2016)
Part 3 MRCOG Clinical Assessment
(from November 2016)
Total number of tasks 12 14
Number of examined tasks 10 14
Number of preparatory tasks 2 0
Time per task 14 minutes
+ 1 minute reading
10 minutes
+ 2 minutes reading
Number of clinical examiners 10 14
Number of lay examiners 0 4

To allow for more depth in the assessment of applied clinical knowledge, a circuit may contain ‘linked tasks’, where the second task is connected to the first. Candidates will be expected to build on the knowledge acquired in the first task. There may also be tasks where candidates are required to undertake a writing task.

Validity of Part 2 MRCOG written examination passes

Candidates who pass the Part 2 MRCOG written examination must attempt the Part 3 MRCOG clinical assessment within seven years (pro rata). If they do not attempt the Part 3 MRCOG clinical assessment within this timeframe, they will be required to take the Part 2 MRCOG examination again.

The Part 3 MRCOG places increased importance on clinical skills relating to communication, patient safety, and applied clinical knowledge. These skills are fundamental to high quality patient care, and have been the key drivers of the proposed changes. The GMC’s Good Medical Practice emphasises ‘Knowledge, skills and performance’, ‘Safety and quality’, ‘Communication, partnership and teamwork’ and ‘Maintaining trust’ as the duties of any doctor registered with the General Medical Council. The new examination is more closely aligned to these duties.

The changes to the MRCOG examination made by the Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists have been:

  • Developed in consultation with clinicians, trainees, lay people and an external assessment expert
  • Developed over two and a half years
  • Refined and tested over 18 months
  • Extensively piloted
  • Based on sound educational practice and evidence-based methods

In the new Part 3 MRCOG Clinical Assessment, there is a greater emphasis on the assessment of clinical skills in the five core skill domains listed above.

For more information please see

Book your

course today

Next course: 2023


Be the first to get updates

© Copyright 2022 St. George's MRCOG CourseWeb Design By Toolkit Websites